Uncategorized

Catching up in Solace

This week we had a sick lecturer so the design tasks had to be undertaken alone in solace. This in itself was a challenge. I enjoy the design process but I find it difficult and time consuming to implement. This has made me think long and hard about the path I wish to pursue upon graduation. I initially thought that design might be for me but right now it feels like a labour of love to me. The technically intensive nature of design makes it not only labour intensive but also requiring a great deal of sustained concentration. As the sort of person whose mind works intuitively differently to that this has been a profoundly challenging discipline for me, and this was brought home today.

My current plan for entering the workplace is to establish my own press so what I take from today is the degree of discipline required to develop a book from the ideas phase through to realising the finished product. This is a lesson that must be learned so better learned early I say. I now have an appreciation of the time and thought that is required to achieve what I want to achieve in the publishing industry, particularly if I am to do it by myself and by my own rules.

Leave a Reply

